Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

The Spanish Flu

I’ve looked in the church records for what was happening here during the Spanish Flu. I found that the records that they kept back then were all in Swedish. So I don’t understand them.

But I do understand tombstones and dates in our cemetery. So I took a walk out there today to look at the deaths that happened from 1918 to 1920 in this community.

They are there young and old, children, young people, and adults. Grandmas and grandpas. Many people died even out here in this field.

Back then there was no quarantining in the home. There were no masks, no sanitizer as such, and not much hope of an answer.

The second wave was much worse than the first I understand because the virus mutated and came back worse than ever.

Death seemed to be much more a part of life in those days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.