LAST HURRAH FOR THE ROSES - PINKTOBER 15

Like most Blippers, I don’t like getting rid of flowers until they absolutely have to go and these Compassion roses are no exception.  They have been sitting on my kitchen windowsill where I enjoyed their beauty when they were freshly picked from the bush and then in all the various stages.  I have now emptied the water out of the vase and they are decaying beautifully.  

It may seem strange to those who don’t appreciate the beauty of decaying flowers, but I think these are still looking good - which reminded me that even though things like flowers and even people may get older and look past their best, there is still beauty if you look for it.

These roses may look forlorn and past their best to you but they have given such joy and delight to me - and the same is true of people who are either old, going through difficult times or even facing a serious illness, their faces may not be beautiful in the “Vogue Magazine” sense, but the suffering, etched on their faces, and the way they deal with their situation can still inspire us.

We have been out in the green gym again this morning and have finished off the last part of the gravelling.  We were a bit mean and decided that if we raked the gravel enough, we wouldn’t need to buy any more to go along the side - and it has worked out well.  We have planted up both the large pots - and I have put a photograph in as an extra to show the finished path and the black pot against the grey wall - still some work to do planting up other pots, but that’s the heavy work all done now.

Sorry I didn’t comment last night, but I was very tired and decided to have an early night.  Please remember to click on this link so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram may have a free one.  Thank you.  

“Breast cancer changes you, 
     and the change can be beautiful.”
Jane Cook - breast cancer survivor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.