Just a clean up for 2020

The Western Front Association is not sending out the 'In Remembrance' crosses this year due to the Covid-19 situation, as they have to be handled, posted etc.
So, it's just a bit of a clean up this year for Trooper Victor George Lane and Bombadier John E Herbert. I usually tidy them when I'm laying the cross each October ready for the Remembrance period leading up to Armistice Day.
Last year I noticed that Trooper Lanes' stone was covered in black mould so decided to take some weak bleach solution along to brush on. I did his first and then went on to Bomb'dr Herbert. Forgot the weed killer so just pulled up and cut whatever I could, including some of the Yew branches above the grave so more light might get through.
Went back to Trooper Lane and it was already looking much cleaner.

Also noticed on Trooper Lanes' stone someone had put a rock of Cotswold stone and 3 stones of slate. Made me wonder if he was of the Jewish faith, it's a tradition when you visit a grave. On one of our trips to Belgium we found a German war cemetery from WW1 with Jewish graves, which we placed stones on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.