Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Supplies

I was wandering round the park at lunchtime when this beast of a plane lumbered into view on its approach to Leeds Bradford airport.  After a couple of beats it registered that it wasn’t one of the usual passenger airliners.

As I’ve remarked here before, my Dad (who's Dad was in the Royal Flying Corps during WW1, and who was himself a boy during WW2) trained us from an early age to pay attention to aircraft of all shapes and sizes. He would have known what this was in a flash but I’ve had to rely on an internet search for “Big RAF cargo plane”. On this basis I’ll suggest it’s a Boeing Globemaster C-17 III, one of the eight currently in the RAF fleet.  I assume it was delivering pandemic supplies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.