A day of calm reflection

Quite a good day today, so after lunch I drove down to the Walled Garden to pick what I think will turn out to be the last of the runner beans (51.5 lbs in total), pull out the peas, weed the bed and plant some winter onion sets. All was completed apart from the fact that I forgot to take the onion sets!

As it was sunny I had a wander round the garden with the camera, but was amused by the note I saw pinned up in one of the tunnels, written on a paper bag and signed George! I’ve put that on as an extra - I hope it's legible!

On the way back I stopped at Luachrach Loch, aka McKay’s Pond, to enjoy the late sunshine and the reflections. Luachrach Cottage was commissioned by Alexander Mackay to act as guest accommodation for his nearby home at Glencruitten House, which incidentally is for sale at the moment, a snip at just under £1 million - https://www.rightmove.co.uk/properties/68577726#/ - if you’re looking for a country cottage! Robert Lorimer was already working on plans to build a new library, estate office and service wing at the main house, so he was handy! I know I’ve Blipped this Arts and Crafts house before, but I love it!

Limerick of the Day:

An effeminate fella from Wales
Bought some stiletto heels in the sales.
He was thought rather poncey
As he tottered through Swansea
With his lip gloss and sparkly nails!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.