Deep in the jungle . . . . .

. . . . of my garden, is what might be Oban's only tree fern!

 Apart from a brief run down to the shops we haven't been out today. Pretty dull and drizzly, so apart from taking a very small branch off a sycamore on the roadside at the bottom of my slope - with the help of a neighbour - and cutting it up, I've been indoors catching up with Photo Club and other stuff.

This tree fern, Dicksonia antarctica, from SE Australia and Tasmania, which I've Blipped many times, is halfway down the slope at the back of the garage, visible through a hole in the shrubbery from passers-by on the road, if they are interested in looking in! In the bottom left the steps up to house level are just visible. It was a self-sown specimen which was given to me by my late friend Nigel Price, former Head Gardener at Brodick on the Isle of Arran.

Quote of the Day:

John Muir - "Only spread a fern-frond over a man's head and worldly
cares are cast out, and freedom and beauty and peace come in."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.