Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Mouse trap and demo

Arth and I had a bad night and I was glad to be up and pottering about this morning. I walked to the shop and back with no additional discomfort. Seems as though there is a tight lump in the quads which is causing problems. Arth The knee is fine.

Mum and I went to see the Mousetrap in Newcastle this afternoon. There was a demo at the Monument about the Arts Funding cuts in Newcastle. David Almond, children's author from our village, was speaking complete with cloth cap and overcoat! (Try Skellig, Kit's Wilderness or Counting Stars.) A good cross section of society was represented and I liked the mix in this image.

Mum has always wanted to see the Mousetrap. Now she has and we won't bother again! The set was terrific but the acting wasn't. The refurbished Theatre Royal is wonderful.

Afterwards we drove to St Oswald's Hospice because I'd heard that M from the walking group had been admitted there. I knew I could not see him but wanted to be sure he had a letter from me. It was the wrong hospice, but he died earlier today. I am so glad for him that his terminal illness was short, but so sad that I will not see him again, with his cheerful smile and twinkle in his eye, on our Wednesday walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.