Mum has created an album of memories

from the 30 years she & Dad spent as the tenants of The Anchor inn, Chudleigh Knighton, before retiring in 1994. Only last week Mum asked  if I could take some photos of the site where the The Anchor Inn stood before it was destroyed by fire in March 2015. One last photo for the album. I parked outside the site today while dropping off some books to the village library/book swap, only to find a notice inside informing folks not to leave books, videos or jigsaw puzzles at the present time. I lugged the bags of books back to the car, grabbed the camera, and found a spot through the security barriers to take a few images. The mirror on the wall in what was the ladies toilet is one of the few bits still intact. Very sad for me seeing the site like this, I spent a good part of my childhood there, & have many fond memories. It obviously breaks Mum's heart to see the site as it is now.

Thanks to Randomangel for hosting Mono Monday & adding the challenge 'Reflections'. I  checked out the work of two photographers you suggested & had planned to experiment with the beaded glass in Mum's back door, which I did, after I'd taken this photo, but somehow this felt more apt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.