Skip's Blips

By Skip

Oh, the indignity!

Can you believe my human? Making me wear this around my head? He says I need to wear it on days like this because if I don't, my ears drag on the ground, and, well, just look at that ground. It's a muddy mess, according to the humans. I really don't mind, but apparently I should. At least my human thinks so, but I am a basset hound, and bassets are dignified dogs. Well, I ask you, does this look dignified? It's a wonder I can hold my head up; I'm so embarrassed!

This is Gigs, the basset hound. He and a second dog were walking with their human when I met them on the trail today. He was completely agreeable about posing for his portrait, just as I am sure he is agreeable about having his ears tied up to keep them out of the mud. His human was agreeable too. I think he must have a great sense of humor because he (the human) was wearing a jester's hat!

The sun has been shining all day, but it didn't exactly warm things up. The temperature is only 28 degrees Fahrenheit, and there is still ice on the bog. Spring is a long time from arriving in northeast Ohio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.