All Quiet Now on the Western Front

There was quite a bit of excitement outside the Dower House this morning as I exited to get some shopping. Parked outside were 5 fire engines, 3 Police Cars and an Ambulance with a large swathe of Middle Meadow Walk cordoned off.

I am not comfortable being a rubber necker, so I didn’t hang about to gawp like the rest of the bystanders to see what was going on and when I returned, normality had been restored.
I asked one of the estate employees if he knew what the problem had been and according to him, some lady in a flat who had or was drinking had a melt down, had been throwing glasses out of her window and it was difficult to get her out. Whether or not this was true, it did seem a bit like overkill with all the fire engines but then what do I know.

With the excitement over, I managed to organise a haircut for the end of the week and sort out some Birthday cards. I also tried to find last year’s recipe for the Christmas cake. Every year I make one of two but I never remember which recipe I used because I have about as many of those as the number of years I’ve been making them. It’s always a temptation to throw in the towel and buy an M&S ready made one, but somehow after 57 years it feels a bit like cheating and far too easy. In my mind, Il faut souffrir pour le temps de Noel (excuse my French variation of the usual phrase).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.