Plain and Purl

The jury is still out as to whether this set of 3 very small circular needles is worth the price I paid for them. They are advertised for knitting socks but I am using them to knit fingerless gloves in a FairIsle pattern and I am finding them a bit tricky to manipulate with the two strands of wool involved. I might get used to them but at the moment I seem to have 10 fingers on each hand all getting in the way.
I am having a bit of an intense knitting session at the moment trying to get, at the last minute, 5 pairs of fingerless gloves ready for Friday. Just when I thought I was winning last night,I realised one finished glove didn’t quite match its partner. There were only a few seconds hesitation before I cut off the top of the offending glove and ripped as much down as I needed to knit the missing rows and reknitted the 30rows cut off. I consider myself lucky that it worked and I now have 2 matching gloves.

I took time off this afternoon to have a quick turn round the marches of the estate while the sun was out, but it was cold in yet another easterly wind. The cold snap has pushed the trees to shed theirs leaves and with the dark mornings now all ready upon us, I fear winter is waiting in the wings.

Now if you’ll excuse me, there is knitting to be done..........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.