The Curious Sight of a Dog in a Jumper

Living a retired life at a fairly quiet pace, it was a jolt to the system to get down to Maggies by 8:15 and then back via the house to the Klondike Garden Centre at 10:15, but I managed it with time to spare. Because of the dire weather forecast of wind and very heavy rain ( another wet Monday) I had imagined having to change sodden clothes at home before meeting up with my friend at Klondike, but in fact the rain was over before I set foot outside.

I don’t think I have been up in that Garden Centre for possibly 10 years and was astonished to see it as it is today with the new café area. It was even stranger to take the bus there, passing the entrance to the Marie Curie Hospice and not having to go up that familiar driveway as I did so often 2 autumns ago.

My friend and I had a good catch up and were then overjoyed to find we got our coffees and toasted teacakes on the house because their computer ordering system was on the blink and they couldn’t find our bill. A win win meeting!

I liked the distinction between a bull in a field in what is left of the green belt around parts of south Edinburgh and a dog in a jumper in the centre of the city.
3 miles in distance and all the difference in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.