JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Social distance at the local GP practice

I needed to talk to our GP this week, and not just via a phonecall but in person. (Nothing urgent, I'm happy to say). I got my flu jab done at the same time.
The procedure for visiting the GP now works like this: a booked phonecall, to discuss the issue; an invitation to a face-to-face appointment, when judged necessary; buzzing at the locked surgery entrance on arrival; waiting in the car park until summoned by the intercom (so you have to stand close enough to hear it, but not too close to the rest of the outdoor queue); waiting again, in the socially-distanced waiting room.
I don't begrudge any of this; the staff at the practice are doing their best in difficult and under-funded circumstances.  I was just grateful that it wasn't raining or blowing a gale this morning.... we would all have been a bedraggled sight otherwise, once we got inside.  All of us were wearing masks, including the very young girl you can see in the Extra, who was waiting patiently with her Dad.
South Yorkshire will come under Tier 3 Covid restrictions officially from Saturday. There is no specific information that I have been able to find about what we have to achieve to get out of it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.