JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Garden clear-up

I spent much of the morning at the optician's, having decided to get my annual eye test done a bit early in case of Covid-related closures. They have a lot of new kit these days.  In order to check for glaucoma, for instance, you no longer have to wince as a puff of air hits your eyeball.  Instead, there's a much more subtle imaging tool. The highlight for me was seeing a fantastically detailed photo of the structure of my eye, including the tip of the optic nerve. Amazing.
I only have one fully functioning eye; the other is what used to be called a 'lazy eye'.   It has some limited peripheral vision but nothing more. So I'm pretty careful about eye tests, feeling especially protective of the 'good' eye since daily life would become very difficult if it deteriorated.   Fortunately my vision has improved slightly since the last test, so I emerged with a prescription for new varifocals.  Fitting new frames, these days, also involves some in-depth interaction with an iPad and a fancy electronic measuring panel on the wall.  All of this helped, I guess, with the necessary social distancing in what used to be a much more intimate process.
Apart from that, I spent a happy session in the garden in the afternoon, picking the last few outdoor tomatoes and clearing away the pots and compost. I was drawn to this single, late lavender stalk, outlined against yellowing mulberry leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.