It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Another Heron

It was a hard choice of photo today but I chose another heron one. It was stood just behind the Old Chain Pier. He was definitely looking at me but seemed comfortable. 

Although I've lived near Wardie Bay for years now, only in lockdown have I discovered its delights. It's best in the morning and I often get 'lost' in spending time looking over the sea wall. We've had very high & low tides recently. In a storm a few weeks ago, Rosemary found it was funny when I got hit by a big wave. I have a history....my old camera died when I was hit by a very big wave in Wallasey I definitely got my love of the sea from my Dad and I spent a bit of time in the naval reserves too. I am fearless of it....that is maybe not a good thing.

Anyway, I walked down to Wardie Beach. There were at least a dozen swimmers there...although not much swimming was being done by some. Three girls, who appeared to be students, stripped down to their bathers and one had a bikini on. They ran into the sea, squawking like seagulls fighting over a crisp, got wet and ran out again. Just then, a group of 8 turnstones landed around 10-feet away from me and I got an ok shot of two of them (see additional shot). But my first meeting was at 9am and I had to get home. On the way I saw a mersanger  (I think)....there is debate on whether they are goosanders! I keep flitting between each, but they are similar. Karen the Wardie Baywatch lady said she saw a young guillemot recently and I did too today. I got a shot as proof, enough for identification purposes, but a poor image. The heron was still in the same spot when I got back to the Old Chain Pier....and the light was better...so it won the Blip contest.

Then it was a day of meetings and recording lectures. My eyes hurt by the end of the day. Rosemary has a tummy bug and is rather poorly too. Hope she's better soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.