It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Yet Again

I have a man crush! Thomas Heaton the landscape photographer who has a really good YouTube channel. I could watch his videos endlessly, simply because I like the look of his life and his apparent life philosophy too...I just seem to relate. Whilst I've just picked up my camera after several years gathering dust, he is amazing with his. But what I like is that he spends lots of time in nature, in the types of places I love, sensing his environment. He suggests not worrying about getting 'the shot' and he'll often only press his shutter button once when he's thought about and composed his image. 

So this morning, I headed out just after 7:30am with camera in hand, walking down to Wardie Bay as usual. The sky and sea were very grey, admittedly with different hues. There were very few birds about and the sea was so calm. It was high tide and although there were a few open-water swimmers about, nothing much was happening. I walked over to the beach inside the harbour and then along the harbour wall. The light was so flat and I resigned myself to the fact that I wouldn't get any shots today....but I was still enjoying the peace.

Then I turned round and saw a heron on the harbour wall. I got down low and fired off three shots. Then he flew off to perch on a roof of one of the Wardie cottages. Blast....in my hurry to get him, I hadn't even thought about my settings, and with the light being so poor, I could have altered them a little to get him more sharp! Hey hum. It's still nice.

It was a meetingful day and I got a few lectures done. But the computer hasn't been working well this week....incredibly slow. I think its the Windows anti-malware doing something funny! 

I must admit I'm pleased the week is over. It's been a hard one for various reasons and Rosemary is still ill. But it's gonna be an exciting 6-weeks with my coaching hat on. I may say something about that later.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.