Fossil

My fossil of a computer has been operating like a slow dinosaur of late so I’ve taken it in to Armley this morning, hopefully for a better experience than I had in my abortive Harrogate attempt - they told my my computer was too old and it very much felt like they didn’t have the capability and just wanted to sell me a new Mac - I’d rather they’d have been up front.

While I was travelling home, still to find a photo, I realised how fitting the 300 million year old fossil from the other day would be and peculiarly, when I arrived home, an email had come through from J asking me if I wanted to come back for a pic. I sure did. I hopped in the car to pack everything into the day and here it is! 

A local geologist gave J this information:

"The root with its pattern of rootlets is known as Stigmaria and maybe from a Lepidodendron or Sigilaria tree.  You can also see the ‘pith' which would have been in the centre of the root. A very nice specimen, worth keeping."

 and a link to this fascinating local leaflet on Ilkley Moor, its geology and heritage.

J is an artist and follows my journal after her spotting me photographing her a few years back. She popped the fossil back safely and came out with two amazing paintings to show me of locations I knew well.  She’s only created two pieces of art from two of my photos. I couldn’t resist a few extras today - do take a look.

Thank you J for letting me come back for photos and I do feel rather honoured that you’ve painted my photos too. See you soon!

Her Majesty is now in the van on the Sandringham Estate. Something a bit ironic about that!


.
.
.
Found the photos:

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2356768585159804477
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2132211141856725761

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.