Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Anderson Farms

This is Thursday's blip, backblipped on Friday.  It was a very full day and I took tons of photos.  I was so tired by the time I looked through them that I had to wait until today to post.

Becky took us to Anderson Farms to do the corn mazes but there was so much else to see.  It's a working farm but I think they make most of their annual income at Halloween with all the activities for children.  At night, they have "Terror in the Corn" where patrons are in the maze after dark...along with many ghoulish creatures prowling the rows.  That sounds way to scary for me!  As it was, I dreamed of walking in cornfields last night.

My main blip is a scene inside a stall in the huge barn.  It really appealed to me.  My first extra is the sign upon entering the gate.  We had to reserve a time so they could limit the number of people inside.  The second extra collage top row is a barnyard dance and the map of the mazes.  The lines are the paths through the cornfield.  There were 18 checkpoints where we could punch our maps.  It might sound easy to do with a map but the corn rows are really disorienting!  We walked 3.5 miles and only managed to get 9 punches.  By then we were ready to give up, especially when we spotted the tall entrance/exit gate in the distance.  The bottom row is a social distancing sign and a look inside the maze.

It was fun to do something different for the first time in many months!  I am grateful to Becky for suggesting it.  We loved spending the day together, just the three of us. :-)

Don't forget that October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Please click on this link to help fund mammograms for people who can't afford them. It's free and just takes a minute!

Thank you to everyone for the stars and hearts on my last few blips!  I'm having a hard time keeping up even with my comments turned off. 

The fires are still growing and are threatening to merge at a point inside Rocky Mountain National Park where they are only 10 miles apart.  Grand Lake, near the west entrance to the park and Estes Park near the east entrance have both been evacuated, along with Granby, where we usually camp.  More high winds are expected today (Friday) and tomorrow before a fairly large snowstorm moves in on Sunday.  Hoping and praying that the fires don't spread too much more before the snow comes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.