Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

The Sun at 3 PM

The area in the foothills where I rode my bike yesterday got evacuated today.  Then, this afternoon another huge smoke plume blew over Longmont and I thought the fire must be really flaring up.  Later on the news I heard that the smoke was coming from the fire in the mountains near Granby (near where we camp), which is only about 50-60 miles from here as the crow flies.  MaryElizaR and her husband just got to the Colorado mountains today for a hunting trip.  Her blip today shows the smoke from that same fire from her vantage point.

My blip today shows the smoky sky filtering the afternoon sun (SOOC).  I can't explain what the light was like and I couldn't really capture it with my camera.  Everything had a dark orange glow.  Words that come to mind are eerie and apocalyptic.  Snow is in the forecast for this weekend but high winds are going to continue until then.

Don't forget that October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Please click on this link to help fund mammograms for people who can't afford them. It's free and just takes a minute!

Thanks to everyone for your recent stars and hearts, I really appreciate all of them!

I am grateful to PD for picking up a load of firewood and getting it all stacked and covered while I was out doing errands. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.