Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Mountain Chickadee

Chickadees are our most frequent visitors at our feeders....but not Mountain Chickadees.  I see them occasionally in the foothills about 10 miles west and always in the mountains, but never down here.  I honestly didn't notice that s/he was different until I downloaded my images.  Our Black-capped Chickadees have a full black head to below the eyes and the mountain ones have the white stripe above the eyes.  I saw a Steller's Jay the other day too which is also mostly a mountain bird.  I think they must be flying east to avoid the fires and smoke.  It will be interesting to see if they spend the winter with us.

I backblipped for yesterday a few hours ago and the fire update is there, so I won't go through it again.  Nothing has changed much since then.

Don't forget that October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Please click on this link to help fund mammograms for people who can't afford them. It's free and just takes a minute!

We had a nice catch up today with our friends in Texas.  We camped at their campground in Granby for many years and have remained good friends since they retired a few years ago.  I am always grateful to hear their voices and find them doing well.  Covid has kept us from visiting them this year.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.