Barnet bomb sites

Not my house, (although that does look like a bomb’s hit it) - no, you can see plotted on this map, every bomb that dropped on Barnet in world war 2. It is a lovely framed picture which mum bought and had framed for dad as a present one year.

I worked until 3.30 today, then filled my car with my bags, and took it to have the chip in the windscreen filled at Halfords (the best they could do.) Then after filling up with petrol, I drove to Hoddesdon, arriving at just after 7.30. It is horrible how quickly the nights have turned dark so early. I watched the sun go down, as I drove, but I don’t enjoy driving in the dark.

Dad is in bed. He doesn’t want to get up at all now. He is very tired. After I had taken him some soup, and had eaten a ready meal myself, I went back upstairs to chat to him about my blip subject. He has no problem remembering things from long ago. He told me about the mines which came down on parachutes. They were silent and one of them dropped at the top of Caernarvon Road, where dad lived. They were in their Anderson shelter when it hit. Two that night (he said it was a Friday!!!) The map says 15/11/1940.

I’m going to stay for the weekend and go home Sunday. Hopefully make myself useful while I am here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.