March, Cambridgeshire

After our evening out in Chatteris, we went back to Joanne's who lives in March, opened a bottle of prosecco and settled down to chat into the night, eventually retiring to bed at 1.30am.

I tried to have a lie in but was woken at 8am by a song going round my head. I was actually singing when I woke up, and it was the song we sing at the end of the singing group. So something I have only sung 2 weeks. I thought how odd that it came to me in my sleep!

We got up and had breakfast. Chatted some more, then later after coffee we went for a nice long walk around March. We had lunch in a pretty vintage tearoom. Then we continued walking, along the river which is lined with pretty cottages, all with moorings on the river. We ended up at the lovely old station, which is in the throws of being updated. I really hope it doesn't spoil its character. This is a train ticket I found in dad's stuff, date on the back 1947. He would have been 17. He told me him and a friend used to collect train numbers and loved the trains. He didn't always buy a ticket, but cheekily jumped on and off trains to see how far they could travel. This one though, I found in a wallet in his school bag. Liverpool Street to March. It is long since you could do that journey. Nice to visit the station today; I don't think it would have looked very different to that day dad visited in 1947. I wish I could ask him.

We wandered back to Joanne's, and packed up our cars, then said our goodbyes. It took me only an hour and a half to get home. A much quicker drive than yesterday.

Cooked egg, bacon and chips for tea, then watched TV. Tomorrow I must pack for our holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.