The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

It's Just a Number

According to Blip Central my journal entry for today is number 1000, the big K (metric) so I thought it would be appropriate to blip one of my vintage cameras, a Pentax K-1000.

This workhorse SLR 35 was the entry into photography for many of us and back in the 70's, when I was ready to move on from my Instamatic and take courses at the Craft School in the old Bates Mill in Lewiston Maine, this was the camera that the instructor recommended and I happily carried it for 25 years.

I joined Blip when, after years of chronic and critical health issues, I had a transplant in 2012. Once back on my feet I splurged on my first DSLR and went wandering in search of my daily photo, out of the house and looking forward to each new day instead of hunkered down and feeling sorry for myself. 

My occasional and at times extended absences, the result of a combination of health, circumstance, or plain orneriness (mea culpa), have meant I haven't been an all the time, every day sort of blipper like many of you. If I were I suppose the number would be about three times the milestone I'm celebrating today. I certainly don't have the skills and technical knowledge I see in so many of your journals each day. Just the same I learn from them and from you and I'm here now pursuing the elusive daily snapshot to dress up in its Sunday best and enjoying the company of folks of the finest kind (some that even appreciate my comic genius).

Ahhh, but I ramble. Stay safe, take care of each other, and as we say here in the Pepper Patch, the adventure through the Viewfinder continues

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.