Combi31

By Combi31

Green Woodpecker

Finally I managed a shot of a green woodpecker. Can be seen BIG here

To get this shot, I sat on a log in the middle of a forest with a flask of tea, a packet of patience and an iPhone.

I could hear the cries of woodpeckers all around, so I knew they were there, but always just out of shot or in a thick part of the forest where it was not possible to get a shot.

I have an app on my iPhone that helps identify birds, which also has the sounds of each bird.
So when the woodpeckers started their cries, I flashed-up the iphone app to answer them.

Sure enough after a couple of hours, one of the Green Woodpeckers came to investigate, sat on a branch and answered the iPhone...
Well when I say, answered the iPhone, it didn't actually answer a call, but it squawked back - result.

I also noted that there were some lesser spotted woodpeckers here too - result N°2.

I'll be back ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.