Rodents rule

By squirk

New mural on the block

We ventured into central London to visit the Among the Trees exhibition at the Hayward Gallery. It's sold out so I was happy to see there were a few returns that I could snap up. 

I particularly loved the large photos and the multi-screen video by Eija-Liisa Ahtila showing a large tree in Finland. The notes for the work struck me: "Because a tree of this scale does not fit easily into a human space, it is presented horizontally in the form of successive projected images...The work is a record of a living organism. It also deals with the limites of recording technologies that we use to create images of the world around us. In particular, it addresses the difficulty of perceiving and recording other living beings through methods invented by humans, which record and reproduce our human perspective of the world."

I paraphrased this to Fred who was immensely impressed until I told him I'd read it on the caption for the work. Those words did come come from my brain.

The animated work Blind Eye by Jennifer Steinkamp was mesmerising. Unfortunately, Fred didn't get this far as he started a migraine and had to head home. 

I got the wooden spoon in the Virtual Pub Quiz! I need to swot up on my girl bands.

The mural in the blip was spotted en route from Blackfriars station to the Hayward Gallery on the Southbank.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.