Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The elk showed up!

Today was not quite as cold as the past two days and I actually had to come out of my coat when I was sitting in the truck as the sun was so warm.     The hunter did not have any luck to kill an elk but we did see many.   The herd in the photo on the top right must have had 100 or more animals.  It was a couple of hills over from where we were sitting this afternoon.  The SX60 tried its best to get a photo but the animals were moving and the extended digital zoom does not like moving objects (or the photography breathing!).  I will be putting the tripod in the truck for tomorrow.  

I was able to get a couple photos of a small herd that was down the hill from us and then up on the next ridge.   Not a clear shot either but I have proof that we found elk.    

We drove down to the where the Snake River bridge is so I could see if it was frozen and it was.   The moon shots were on the way back.   Waiting on the full moon this weekend.  

Tomorrow is supposed to be warmer and then the temps keep going higher into the weekend and next week.    Which is good as we are going to be out walking as my hunter stalks these elks.

I always tell him he just has to be in the right place at the right time...just like photographers!   

Thanks for all the love, hearts and stars on the collage of the snow yesterday.   I keep thinking I will have time to answer each comment but the day just gets away from me.  By the time we get back to the house, I download photos, post, then we eat supper when the other hunters staying here get back, then I am ready for bed!    I do appreciate all those enjoying this scenery with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.