Flypast

My third day. 

I started it (after coffee and breakfast obviously) at Duffus Castle*, a bit north of Elgin. It was open in spite of the virus and it being off-season. Social distancing and crowd avoidance were easy. No mask required. 

It is one of those places I have driven past many times and never stopped at. The stone version dates from about 1305. A wooden structure was there from 1140. 

The castle is at the end of the runway at RAF Lossiemouth. It was a busy place this morning. On Wednesdays the Russians usually send a reconnaissance flight in our direction to test response times. The RAF chaps love it, because they have to respond and don’t have to wait for some civil servant in London to authorise the vast cost of doing training flights. I counted 6 Eurofighter Typhoons** taking off, plus a Poseidon marine patrol plane. 

On a slow news day the BBC in Scotland wets itself with excitement about all this, trying to make us think some terrible Russian threat has been chased away by “our” brave aviators.

I also had another wee hike, again along the shore, but this time the rocky part to the east of Hopeman**. More fresh air, light exercise and peace and quiet - only occasionally spoiled by the roar of our returning heroes. 

I even went out for coffee and cake. A real fika event. The venue - Logie Steadings - was well set up for the Covid 19 stuff so I enjoyed my wee treat twice over.

The distillery at Dallas Dhu** (shut in 1983, and now a museum) would have been on my itinerary, but it is closed due to the pandemic. However my route back to Rothes from there was beautiful - low hills and forests. The setting sun shining on autumn leaves. Most of the signs on the road are for distilleries - Cardhu, Knockando, Macallan…   

* Blip
** Extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.