A day in the life

By Shelling

Corn

 The cornfields are harvested, leaving large stumps behind. Corn is a rather common plant on Öland, farmers grow it for feeding purposes, cows, pigs, chicken eat it and us humans use the corn on the cob or sweet corn. I really have no knowledge about growing corn, still I've always thought it's an ugly plant, lots and lots of green and  only a single corn on the cob. To me it's hard to understand how it's possible to grow such a massive plant without impoverish the soil. Then you'd have to add artificial fertilisers and lose the possibility to have a healthy, sustainable farming. I've just revealed my complete ignorance in these matters. Maybe someone can teach me how I ought to look at it.

During the mid term holiday when the schools are empty, there is a lot of small Corona friendly cultural events on offer. I went to see a dance performance filmed at the Malmö Opera house. It's a beautiful performance, like a dream among mythical figures and forest creatures and elfes. The performance is called "The feeling of going", see it if you can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.