The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Topsy turvy

The plan today was to have a big Lake District walk with Gus. And it was a perfect day for it, mild and sunny. Following the plan, I took Gus over the Knott at dawn to ensure he would be comfortable for the drive to Coniston. And then as the sun came up, my resolution failed.

Was it laziness, weariness, sore knees or decrepitude that stopped me? Or a combination of all of them? There was a time a few years ago when I did a peak a week whatever the weather. But am I bothered? No. Do I need to go to the Lake District? No. So, as a compromise Gus and I spent a few hours walking over Whitbarrow, that great limestone massif that features so often in these blips reflecting in the Kent estuary seen from the Sandside side.

And then we came home, the sun was setting, the photographers were gathering on the pier in anticipation of something special. And they gave me upside down foreground interest as I looked down the Kent channel and across to the sun setting behind Hampsfell. We arrived back at the house at the same time as Wifie who had just finished her second Tai Chi day of the weekend.

ps Worth viewing upside down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.