bittersweet memories...

...of daddy

on this 13th anniversary of his passing

does it get easier - no
does time soften the hurt - yes
does time ease the grief - yes
does the passage of time make me miss him any less - no

i was the consummate - daddy’s girl - he’d been away at war - when my big sister was born - so when i came along - after 4 boys - well you can imagine how - he probably felt - a little princess to dote on - i admit to being - a tad spoiled - even though that spoiling - didn’t come through - material goods - it came by hand holding - cultivating a relationship - being a rock of a papa - when the world turned cold - it was telling my brothers - to be there for me - in thick and thin when they - were being brats to me

i can still hear his voice - strong, confident and steady - i can still smell his aftershave - i can still see him - chasing after chipmunks - on the back porch - wishing i had a photo - of that because the chippies - always outsmarted him which - made me smile as it does now - and i know with memories - it can be...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.