pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Return within a return

All the way back on March 14, a friend and I ventured north for a day out in Edinburgh.

We weren’t sure about going as there was some overblown nonsense going around about a nasty virus, but she was armed with hand sanitiser and I with a plucky non-science based “I’m sure it will be fine” attitude. I’m glad we went because a) it was one of the best days out I’ve had this year and b) we visited the fantastic National Museum of Scotland and played with the various exhibits (in the bits you were allowed to).

At the time I thought that my children would love this, but unfortunately it turned out that that virus had if anything been underblown (resists joke about self here) and travel to Edinburgh not really on the cards. This week, however being just an hour and twenty minutes away, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to show the children the museum.

Despite the fact that the majority of the immersive exhibits were out of commission (guess why), the children did indeed love it - particularly discovering that they are made of stars (in a roundabout fashion).

Post-museum we took a stroll up the Royal Mile to see the Castle and I was delighted that they also got to see a proper bagpiper doing his thing - we walked on a little quicker after The Youngest loudly commented on “his skirt”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.