I must go down to the seas again . . .

. . . to the lonely sea and the sky! 

It was supposed to be a dry, sunny day today, and it was, apart from the occasional showers! We decided to take a picnic down to Seil Island and find somewhere out of the wind and in the sun with a view of the sea! Very funny. We stopped at the seat beside the road as you drive down into Ellenabeich where we had sunshine, a good view of the sea and a tornado! I'm afraid we drove on down into the village and enjoyed our picnic beside the cliffs overlooking the increasingly stormy sea - in the car! Quite dramatic, with rapidly changing weather conditions and the waves crashing against the rocky shoreline!
 
Following the apparent impossibility of buying Bovril anywhere in Oban as mentioned a couple of days ago, I put a post on our local Facebook page begging for help! Just for a joke really, so I was surprised at the number of posts which followed. As usual, some stated the obvious – try Tesco – and three members of staff from Tesco replied to say there would be new stock coming in on Thursday night and explaining exactly where it would be, above the stock cubes in Aisle 12! The best, however, was from a lady of my past acquaintance who offered me an unopened jar from her cupboard, given to her by somebody who didn’t know she was a Marmite woman. If I called in at the craft shop where she worked she would hand it over, which she did. The power of social media! After 93 posts the comments were turned off by the administrator!
 
I also found a home this afternoon for a 20kg bag of bird seed which I stopped using as my garden grew a fine crop of wheat – I offered it on Facebook and it was snapped up in three minutes!
 
So we arrived home and were barely inside the door when the heavens opened!
 
Quote of the Day: 
 
Joshua Slocum – “But where, after all, would be the poetry of the sea were there no wild waves?”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.