New location...same work!!

Worked from mum’s dining room today. Warmer than the summer house and has light!! This room is at the front of the house, and was extended back in 80’s. When we first moved into the house when I was 5, the room was really small with a window to the front high up I recall, and a normal window to the side. We called it the playroom, and I remember it had a big drawing board in it, a very small radiator and was very cold. There were no toys, so I don’t know why it was called the playroom!! Once extended it became a much more useful space, and was first a room with an old tv, and one of those awful folding sofa beds that seemed to have cardboard inside the arms it was so flimsy. Before we were married, Jon and I used to sit in there and watch Moonlighting. Those were the days!

It then became the dining room - before the internet had been invented there wasn’t a whole computer station filling one corner. So there was plenty of room for the Ercol sideboard and matching big dining room table with 4 chairs and a love seat. That furniture is now in the lounge, which was a lounge diner when the house was first built. That was evident by a dividing point on the floor where carpet (green when we moved in in 1970) from the lounge end stopped and wooden parquet floor began.

I have just worked today, while things have gone on around me. Manda has been here most of the day, mum has been able to go out for a long shopping trip to Morrison’s and dad has been a bit more awake today too. After my work finished at just after 5, I took dad some soup, a cheese stick and small trifle which he enjoyed. He has now gone back to sleep.

Tonight I’m thinking about doing some knitting...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.