The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Let's Go Fishing

I've mentioned him before when referring to family roots to Scotland, my grandfather. Actually, in terms of blood relations he was my step-grandfather, but he was the one I knew and the one who took me fishing so meet Grampa David Shaw. Born in 1886 in Glascow, one of six children born to Thomas and Catherine. The family emigrated to the United States and settled in Rhode Island, working in the mills. 

A master story teller, one of the stories I enjoyed most was hearing him tell about going to Canada at the outbreak of the First World War to enlist in the Black Watch. He said if he was to be in uniform, it would be the kilt. When I asked him about what it was like  going away to war, he got quiet and would say "not today boy, not today".

He died in 1961 at the age of 75. I was 13, old enough to know he was dying when I visited him in the hospital "one last time" but it was my first experience losing someone I cared for deeply and it hurt like hell. 

I don't sing this for others much but ...

              Let's Go Fishing 


His hair was white by the time I knew him
Tall and gruff but I saw right through him,
Behind that weathered old hide
Beat a heart of gold.
He told funny stories 'bout a boy like me
Tied Sister's pigtails to a tree,
I guess I never thought of him as old.
But the times that I remember best 
were sitting on a pond
Him and me in an old wood boat
tying earth worms on
A bamboo pole, a bobber on a line
Being a young boy was something fine,
When my grampa came and said to me.


(chorus)
Come on boy, let's go fishing
Suns almost up and time's a wasting
There's breakfast on the table and worms in the can
Come on sleepyhead grab your pole
We'll go down to the fishing hole,
Time and trout wait for no man.
Time and trout they wait for no man. 

Thanks for listening to another old story teller ... stay safe and take care of each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.