Poor postie

Whilst I was out at the gym getting my last fix of indoor gym based exercise for the time being (not because of any lockdown, but because my gym has concluded that its current premises are unsustainable, so they've closed for the time being and will be operating via online and outdoor classes from now on....I could find another gym, but I don't think I will), my new dumbbells arrived. Poor postie. That's (18 x 2) + (10 x 2) + (6 x 2) = 68 lbs = nearly 31 kgs, plus a modicum of packaging. Mr A answered the door and the postie had some choice words to offer, poor man. He'd had to bring these up from his van onto the courtyard level and then up in the lift. Oh dear. I promise I won't buy any more (although to be honest I sort of regret not buying the lighter weights....so might still succumb). I'm sort of surprised at John Lewis sending these by post rather than using a courier service, where the delivery person would have a trolley to help him or her.



So now I just have to use them. I wonder if they will prove as useful as my other lockdown purchases, namely my excellent yoga mat and my spinning bike.



Other than that, it was a quiet day, as so often around here. Mr A is deep into his creative writing course and I spent the afternoon occasionally dipping into our book group book, which I'm enjoying although I find it rather hard going.



The evening was nonsense TV, except it wasn't all nonsense. We enjoyed one of the Scotland from the Sky programmes, of which there seem to be quite a few on iplayer (these sorts of programmes always give us ideas about places they want to visit), and then watched The Secret Life of the Berlin Wall, which was a thoughtful exposition of the deepseated fractures within the GDR, rather than being a programme about the Wall as such.



I kept one eye on the nonsense going on in the southern part of the island. I don't have the detailed knowledge that would tell me whether or not the lockdown through November is a sensible reaction, but I certainly can see that the process of announcing it was as chaotic as ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.