A little bit of balcony colour

Some of my balcony plants have been fantastic: the bidens is still going strong on 31 October, as is this campanula, a dianthus, and various fuchsias. Many of these have flowered successively. In contrast, the very nice chrysanthemums I got a few weeks ago have all now finished flowering, without any real sign of new flowers. Boo, hiss. The cyclamen are faring better.

The next time there is a dry day, I need to move one of the pots from the wet to the dry side of the balcony, where the plants can then take their chance in the wind. The pot does not appear to be draining properly, and on Saturday morning, after the torrential rain of Friday, it appeared to have what the factor’s employee used to call, when we first moved in here, a propos some of the flowerbeds in the courtyard, “ponding issues”. I tipped a couple of litres off the top of the pot over the side of the balcony, but obviously it is still completely soaked, and could well compromise the plants in there if I don’t take action.

A dry day. Ha, that would be a fine thing. More rain today, although it cleared up just in time to get dark at 5pm. Boo hiss again. I don’t like the change of the hour. It upsets my already pretty feeble internal clock, and robs much needed daylight from the afternoon and dumps it in the morning.

Fairly quiet around here today…as ever. We went to the supermarket in the morning, and intermittently, although not solidly, I worked. I did a bike boot camp in the afternoon, getting some use out of my dumbbells again, finally. 

Tomorrow, fingers crossed, the wardrobe installation should begin. We will believe it when we see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.