The Battle of Evermore

I hope you got a chance to witness Saturday night's blue moon for Halloween. The full moon of late October will always be Dexter's Moon to me. Well, that big moon was back again on Sunday night, putting on an amazing show. We had some rains move through, and on the back side of them came heavy winds and bands of snow showers that left a skiff of white stuff on our deck for the first time by morning.

But at this particular moment, which is to say Sunday evening, there I was, watching the full moon crossing the sky through the big front windows. Suddenly, we realized that without the air conditioner in the window anymore (it came out a month or more back), I could simply OPEN the window and hang myself out, with camera, to get the shot. So I did.

The sky was very dramatic and the clouds kept trying to hide that beautiful moon. But the moon was having none of that. It kept winning the battle, coming forth, breaking through those clouds, shining its light down on all of us, fighting back the darkness.

May we all find the strength to do the same.

This sort of scene always makes me think of this song, and so here it is. Classic Led Zep, played beautifully by Ann and Nancy. Here are Heart, with The Battle of Evermore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.