Vaccinated

Yes, back into the Covid-19 world at 09:00. 

The Boss only gave me a couple new cases this morning and that meant I could catch up quite well in what has been going on while I was away. One regular complainer has seen something on Russia Today which he needs reassurance on. Another poor fool saw something on the BBC which has got him worried. 

Anyway, work took up my whole day until 17:00, unless you count my lunch break. It was quite boring, but I was at home so I could relax a bit too. 

Right after work I went out to get my flu vaccination. I have never taken up the offer before, but this year felt different for some reason. It was fascinating. 

A temporary clinic has been set up in the local theatre - that’s an entertainment venue, not an operating theatre. So far so good - the patients will not risk infecting a normal healthcare setting and it eliminates the risk to them of going into a hospital or normal clinic. 

The waiting area was properly distanced, as was the recovery area. Someone sanitised the seats after each use. Everyone was wearing masks. Obviously the nurse giving the injection has to get close, but that is unavoidable. 

The curious bit was the reception desk. There was nothing - not even a floor marking - to keep the patients 2m away from the receptionist. The reception desk itself was the only barrier. Some patients were less than 1m away as he checked their details. There was a queue waiting when I left, and again there were no floor markings to keep people distanced. We left through the same door as those coming in and waiting in the queue - a 2m distance was impossible. 

Very strange. If it were a cafe or restaurant I would not go back.

The Blip is the recovery area. We were told to wait 5 minutes to make sure were were OK. I kept my eye on the defibrillator, but I was fine. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.