WHO KNEW...

…eight months ago that the highlight of our day would be watching a Beefy’s skip being taken away and having our feet done?

After our little outing yesterday, we decided not to go out today, so when I got up and saw that the skip lorry had arrived to take away our next door neighbours’ skip, I decided to take a couple of shots through the kitchen window.  Of course, the driver didn’t know that I was looking for a Blip and he even waved to me and smiled, which was great.  Probably thought “Poor old dear, I’ll give her a wave!”  

A little while later, Jo, our lovely podiatrist arrived and having established that we were both happy if just she wore a mask, she set to on our feet.  They haven’t been “done” since January, so although a lot of “digging around” needed to be done, they now feel wonderful and we are very grateful to Jo.  She is such a friendly lady and only lives just around the corner from us, so although she is on holiday from her “proper job” this week, she was happy to fit us in.  We always have a lovely chat whilst she is cutting nails, scraping bits off and doing all the other bits that I could never do, and although I hate having my feet touched, because she is so gentle, somehow Jo can get away with touching them and we always have a good foot massage at the end of the treatment.  

So that, dear Blippers, in a collage, is the highlight of our day - I know it’s sad, but at the moment, that is our life - and we will probably even put our feet up and watch something on Netflix this afternoon.  I did think I may go out for a walk, but the sky is looking rather threatening, so we will see how it goes - but if I do, at least I won’t be limping because of my corns!

Hope everyone is keeping well - at least we have plenty of toilet rolls so don’t need to go out and raid the supermarket shelves!

I cut this quote out of a newspaper a few weeks ago and in view of the impending lockdown, thought it was food for thought - if you want to read the complete poem, you can find it, and the meaning here.

“Though much is taken, much abides; and though
     We are not now that strength which in old days
          Moved earth and heaven, that which we are, we are;
One equal temper of heroic hearts,
     Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
          To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.”
Alfred, Lord Tennyson - 1809 1892 : Ulysses

PS The clouds blew away, so I decided to go over to my field for a walk - and it felt good but glad I put a scarf and hat as it was really windy and a tad chilly! I had a lovely walk, saw lots of apples on the ground so made a pile of the good ones and came home to pick up a couple of bags, then went back over and picked up loads. Sadly many of them had rotted and there were lots of wasps around, but I came back laden so I feel an apple crumble coming on.  You just never know what a day may bring!  See extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.