WIDE WEDNESDAY - SPACIOUS

I haven’t been over to “my field” for sometime, so decided that today would be the day that I would visit to see if the trees were any further forward wearing their autumn garb than the ones outside our fence.  

Mr. HCB suggested I wore my walking boots as he said it would be very wet underfoot and then said that he would come with me!  We love walking round the field, and he wasn’t wrong about it being wet - in fact, in places it was positively squelchy and we had to make sure we didn’t sink into some of the ruts.

We were both a little disappointed as the leaves on many of the trees are still quite green, but there was a hint of autumnal tints in some of the other trees.  My favourite tree, the oak, hasn’t got its act together about Autumn yet, and we both agreed it will need another week or more, so I have marked on the calendar to visit again next Wednesday.  

However, I have just looked at the theme for Wide Wednesday, and find it is “spacious” and think that this shot fits the bill.

As we walked, and especially when we got nearer to the oak tree and could see it’s large branches bending downwards, we chatted about the wonderful programme, "My Passion For Trees" by Judi Dench that we had watched on the television, but which is now on YouTube - and you can watch the whole programme here.  It is well worth watching and we both said how much we had learned from that and how it made us view trees differently now.  

I’m pleased to say that my decluttering day went well yesterday and the sideboard is now almost clear and is looking good - see extra - just a shame I didn’t take a “before” photograph!  The paper recycling bin has lots of old birthday cards that I should have got rid of years ago as well as scraps of paper that just cluttered my space  - I just need to work on keeping it like this.

“Trees are living symbols of peace and hope. 
     A tree has roots in the soil 
          yet reaches to the sky. 
It tells us that in order to aspire 
     we need to be grounded...” 
Wangari Maathai : Unbowed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.