ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I was up quite early this morning and after writing several cards to different friends, I popped out to the Post Office to send them merrily on their way, following which I then called into a nearby Retail Park.  I might have stopped for a takeaway coffee had there not been about twenty people in the queue outside Costa, so came home instead and had a free one there!

Andy, our handyman carpenter, had messaged yesterday to see if he could come today to repair/replace more of Mr. HCB’s raised beds, so his van was on the drive, which meant I had to park in the lay-by opposite.  Although I had taken quite a number of different shots when I was out, as I parked the car I noticed on the back of someone’s fence, the beautiful Pyracantha berries and just above them some blackberry flowers - so quickly took a few shots using the SlowShutter App on my iPhone.  I was pleased with how they turned out, so here is one for Abstract Thursday, just slightly edited and I have also used the Carbon App to put a border on it.

Although it’s cold today, with a biting wind, the sun is shining so I have just had my coffee in our conservatory - and very nice it was too - and of course, it was free.  

We live in a cul de sac of just four houses, and today we are going with our next door neighbours, Lynn and Mike, to the funeral service for Ruth, another neighbour who died just over a month ago.  She had been ailing for many years and sadly, because of Covid, we hadn’t seen her for about two years, but I used to put cards through their door to cheer her up and am glad we have managed to chat with her husband to make sure he is all right.  Both their children have grown and left home, so a cheery word and smile now and again will at least keep us in touch.

“Look for a way to lift someone up 
     and if that’s all you do, 
          that’s enough.”
Elizabeth Lesser

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.