pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The nuance of peace

I felt like I found a little peace today and the ever pervading sense of anxiety lifted for a little while. It was really quite refreshing.

It struck me that I had mentioned a silence yesterday and how two words (silence and peace) can describe the same thing and at the same time mean something totally different. For today though: peace is the operative word.

The morning was steady away and the changeable weather seemed to have brought a wide variety of birds down to the feeders. It’s only this year that I’ve started enjoying such a simple thing: seeing birds on the feeders, the sight of the parents feeding their young is particularly enjoyable.

Maybe it was that which put my mind at rest or the fact that the tone of some in the work environment seems to have shifted for the better, who knows/cares?!

Either way, I fancied a walk at lunch and briefly spotted some blue sky (see extra!!!) on my way around to and up and over the castle. I’ve taken a similar shot several times before from up atop, but wanted to get in closer on the town to highlight the fast flowing river, swollen from many days of rain.

As much as I love a run to get the heart pounding, a nice sedentary walk and taking in the surroundings is welcome too.

I think I’ll have some more of that over the winter months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.