We Might Need to Rethink the Fence

Yesterday we told Pedro that we wanted to replace the burned fence, which was a solid wooden 8 foot high wall, with open wire deer fencing because we liked the open view.

There is a lot behind our neighbor’s property which has had various kinds of activity going on for as long as we have lived here. The latest thing was the building of a cement foundation a couple of years ago. It has languished behind a plywood wall which has slowly faded and blended into the landscape.

Today we were awakened at 7:30 by the now familiar sound of beeping trucks. Upon investigation we discovered that it was not the normal parade of PG&E and telecom trucks going up the hill, but a gigantic crane parked in the field right next to ours. A dozen pickup trucks, some with flashing light were also parked up there.

An hour later, two huge trucks arrived, each one hauling half a house wrapped in plastic.
I ran up and down the steps to our field checking on progress. They seemed to be spending a lot of time peeling off layers of plastic and I discovered that I could watch progress from the living room couch.

I had an appointment in the afternoon and when I got home, the two halves of the house had been lifted onto the foundation, a row of windows overlooking the field next to us and our bedroom.

I must say I never anticipated this....
I hope the dead looking trees in the field aren’t actually dead...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.