A Sea of Fog...

...was lapping at the shores of the Rincon Valley as we made our way around our little circuit above Spring Lake with Spike. The point of the peninsula across the way is Fountaingrove which was decimated by the Tubbs fire almost four years ago. The houses that are visible have all been or are being built since then. 

We were out early since David and his crew arrived at 8am. They are all trying valiantly to do the work of several crews because there just aren't  enough people to do everything. They appear, disappear and reappear sometimes several times a day, but the job is getting done. They're all nice guys and nice to have around, but they do make a lot of noise.... Apparently they put in a gigantic new deck on a house that David thinks he can see across the way from our house. Apparently the waterproofing didn't stand up too well to 8+ inches of rain and they are now working to fix it. The unexpected is the norm for contractors, I'm sure. Other  sets of contractors and builders are still moving dirt and digging holes on the building sites on either side of us. They had to wait either for the water to subside or pump it out of both before they could resume work.

More rain is forecast for tonight and tomorrow....

It has been a beautiful day and I'm happy to say that my peely-wally symptoms have mostly subsided.Thanks to blipper Extra Time for this wonderful descriptor. It will definitely go into our lexicon of words that have crept into our speech since living in Edinburgh.  

I'm glad I like my dermatologist and the people who work in her office (including her dog) because I'm spending a lot of time there....today I had stitches out of #1, an excision of #2 and learned that #1 will have to be done again because they may not have gotten it all. 

I think I'm feeling a bit peely-wally again....

I got in the car, saw that my low fuel light was on, stopped at a gas station on the way home and could NOT get the gas cap cap off. A guy in a pickup behind me was watching and I could almost feel him thinking that women weren't competent to fill their own cars with gas...either that or he was debating whether it was politically correct to offer to help. In the end I got the gas cap off but got gas all over myself. 

Not my finest hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.