Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

The Wind in the Willows

We walked  by the Teviot this morning. We didn't see another soul. But the rain stayed off till we got home.

After that we had a domestic day. TM split more logs, from the trees that were felled the other week. I brought my big sewing machine in from the Hayloft - it's electronics have to be kept nice and cosy. The old Singers keep going even when it's sub-zero, but my fingers don't. I have a large quilt to be finished off, first by machine and then by hand. The plan is to do the hand bit in the depths of January when I'll be nicely snug with it spread over my knees.

After that, I made some shortbread! I hardly ever bake, because we have no will-power ... it tastes so much nicer when it's fresh ...  and these days it all lands straight on the hips:-( 

But visitors are expected soon, so needs must.

Ali FaceTime later, the shortest ever. Hal was just tucking into his tea, but somehow fell off his chair, taking his plate with him ...... loud wails and he wasn't going to be quickly consoled, so we'll try again tomorrow.

I didn't take any pictures yesterday, I felt very peely-wally. I suppose it must have been a reaction to the vaccinations. I'm fine now. 

Another week begins, nearly time for the clocks to go back.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.