Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Melrose on a Monday

Unusually for us, we went to the supermarket this morning - not just any supermarket, the M&S Foodstore in Galashiels. We were seeking various dainties to add to the home baking of dubious quality when we entertain C & C to Afternoon Tea tomorrow. 

That accomplished, we high-tailed it out of Gala, along to Melrose where we refreshed ourselves at a wee cafe in the High Street. We'd gone there because they do excellent scones, but as soon as we sat down, my eye was caught by some cinnamon buns. They had to be sampled, and they did not disappoint ...

We had a little walk around town, not enough to work off the buns. It was warm and clear and bright this morning, and I thought I'd get a shot of the Abbey in its autumn colours. Unfortunately I didn't have my Historic Scotland membership card with me, so I was reduced to sticking my camera through the railings to get a shot. There was no way of avoiding the strangely shaped yews  - I wonder why they lean at that angle.

Then it was home to start making chocolate brownies a la Mary Berry. So far they look ok .... Next will be a version of Lemon Drizzle.  Most of this will be going in the freezer to stop us from scoffing the lot before October is out. 

And next time I'll ask them to lunch - far less of a faff!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.