Down this way? Not today

My last day at work until 16 November. Tomorrow is my fortnightly day off, and then I have a week's leave. I do need it. But of course, given that my registrar is off work because of an infection, and the unit is under immense pressure, I was busy all day in patient assessments and meetings to arrange discharges, I actually worked almost non stop from 0730 until I left for home. I did stop for lunch and the Guardian cryptic.

On the way home on my bike, I saw Maungawhau off to the left with the Trig Station prominent. The arrow pointing down Newton Road to the onramp to the North-Western Motorway did not entice me as it is just a flat ride straight on to the apartment.

I have been almost holding my breath for the last counts to come in from the US Presidential election. When I went to bed last night, I despaired of the US. I still cannot understand how so many people could vote for someone who has spent the past four years stealing from the people and enacting policies or not doing what needed to be done so that hundreds of thousands of people have died. 

he other day in the car I heard again the John Lennon masterpiece "Imagine". And they shot him, not Trump.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.