The Twists and Turns of Life

It has been a really strange week in the U.S., and a very hard time for us, personally, since we lost our cat Dexter. It's difficult to believe, but it's already been one week since I last held him in my arms. I wake in the night wondering where he is. We still cannot believe he is gone.

I took a break to sit by Dexter's grave in the sun as the day's news unfolded. It was a twisty turny day, with everyone holding our breath to see what happens next in the political arena. No final word, not even by nightfall. It is tense here.

So I took a picture of one of the fairy twirls that I have hanging by Dexter's grave. I have a few in my big sister's butterfly garden, too, for she is the one who bought me these pretty things; so much of the beauty I own came from her.

It is made of some kind of material that absorbs light, and then it shines out in the darkness. Like hope, I guess. And faith. And love. Which the darkness cannot extinguish!

The soundtrack song for this day can only be this one, for we all know that the waiting can be the hardest part. Here are Tom Petty and Eddie Vedder to sing it for us: The Waiting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.