THE JOYS OF A FOGGY MORNING

I guess I wouldn’t be using a title like that if I had to drive to work on a foggy morning - but being retired, I am fortunate that I can just look out of the window and see the beauty in the fog, which I certainly did.

I decided to go out for an early morning walk - just after 9 o’clock is quite early for me - and thought that I might get some good shots if I went over to my field.  I took several shots of the trees in the fog and as I walked round, I could see that the bushes were covered in hundreds, if not thousands or even millions of spider webs so I stopped to take several shots of those.

I fully intended to make the middle one in my extra collage my main Blip for today and call it “Hanging by a Thread” which is what we all seem to be doing at the  moment, but as I wandered around the perimeter of the field, I saw more and more beautiful webs, so having taken lots more shots, it was a very difficult choice once I got home and looked at them on my computer screen.

However, the one I have chosen really was a “WOW” moment when I had walked around the oak tree and then turned and saw this beautiful, cascading web, with the sun shining on it.  I think I may even have said “WOW” out loud and it certainly brought me joy this morning.  I decided to make it a mono shot, so that you can see the full beauty of the work that the spider has done.  

According to Mr. Google, this could have been made by a tangle-web spider, also known as a cobweb spider, that belongs to the family Theridiidae and are known for building three-dimensional space webs, among them, the common house spider and the notorious black widow - I didn’t hang around long enough to see which one it was!

There is so much anxiety, fear and worry in our world today, but it is comforting to know that the seasons roll on regardless and nature gives us these precious and joyous moments to lift our spirits.  My legs and feet were extremely cold because the grass was wet and in parts of the field, it was very boggy, but I almost didn’t notice that until I got home but at least my boots didn’t leak, so my feet were dry.  By the time I got home, the fog had cleared and the sky was blue - as you can see in the top two shots of my collage.

Mr. HCB was in the garden early this morning sorting out more in his greenhouse and has just got back from having his shingles injection, so I think we will just sit in the conservatory this afternoon and enjoy the sunshine.

“The greatest artist 
     and web-designer ever 
          is indeed a spider!” 
Munia Khan

Today's joys:

§     Walking in the fog and enjoying nature.
§     Being able to sing as I walked.
§     Coming back to a warm and dry home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.