Frommotherearth

By Frommotherearth

Lockdown 2 Day 2

I went out prior to sunrise this misty lockdown morning for my socially distanced exercise.

After what seemed like a painfully long walk from where I parked my car I heard the unmistakable clash of antlers come from the other side of woodland.

To get anywhere near enough for a photo I had to climb a muddy hill and then cross some boggy difficult terrain. I got to a point where I could just see the two combatants through a gap in the trees.

It crossed my mind whether to try and get in into a better location to photograph them but experience screamed at me "just take the shot, just take the shot".

So that was what I did, I took the shot and then another as I stepped to the left and then to the right as I moved in synchronicity with the stags as they shoved each from side to side moving in and out of my line of site.

They unlocked their antlers and as they raised their heads one of them caught site of me in his peripheral vision and they bolted off together into the mist. That was the first and last that I saw of them..   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.